You Raise Me Up is a remarkable song that has inspired people around the world with its message of hope, strength and overcoming.

In this delightful short video from the Foundation for a Better World, a montage of moving images accompanies the song as performed by Josh Groban.  The ebullient countenances of the young and old will bring a smile to your face and a lump to your throat – so turn up the sound and click on the picture below.

Extraordinarily popular, “You Raise Me Up” was written in 2001 by Norwegian composer Rolf Løvland.   The melody is based on the Londonderry Air, a traditional Irish tune which is best known as the usual tune to the 1910 song “Danny Boy”.

There is an article about the song in Wikipedia.

The lyrics, written by Irish songwriter Brendan Graham, appear below:

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up… to more than I can be.

There is no life – no life without its hunger;
Each restless heart beats so imperfectly;
But when you come and I am filled with wonder,
Sometimes, I think I glimpse eternity.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
And I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up… to more than I can be.