In this short video, Gary J. Coleman asserts with reference to his experience of personal conversion: “I learned truths that I had not known before that changed my life and how I viewed the gospel.”

I am a devout Christian who is exceedingly fortunate to have greater knowledge of the true “doctrine of Christ” since my conversion to the restored Church.

 

Error
This video doesn’t exist

 

Gary J. Coleman is a General Authority (a leader with worldwide jurisdiction) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  His address, Are We Christians, was given at the April 2007 General Conference of the Church.  Although a high-ranking Church leader, Coleman’s conversion experience is similar to that of many Mormons today.

The first restored truth that I learned was the nature of the … true Christian doctrine that the Godhead consists of three separate beings, [as] known in biblical times.  God bore witness of Jesus, His Only Begotten Son, on several occasions.  He spoke at Jesus’s baptism: “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.” Jesus Himself [addressed] God, His Father, when He said, “And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.” After Jesus’ death and Resurrection, Stephen, “being full of the Holy Ghost, looked up steadfastly into heaven, and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing on the right hand of God, and said, Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of man standing on the right hand of God.”

[T]he First Vision experienced by the Prophet Joseph Smith … was a stunning awakening for me to finally understand the truth about the nature of God the Eternal Father and His Only Begotten Son.  Joseph declared: “I saw two Personages, whose brightness and glory defy all description, standing above me in the air.  One of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said, pointing to the other—This is My Beloved Son. Hear Him! This heavenly vision restored the wondrous yet plain and precious knowledge of God and His Son to the earth again, dispelling at once the teachings I had learned about the Trinity.

The second truth I learned as an investigator of this Church was the reality of additional scripture and revelation.  The Book of Mormon is a sacred record written by prophets of God to persuade all people to come unto Christ, and it helps to reveal the gospel of Jesus Christ in its fulness. The Book of Mormon tells of the resurrected Christ teaching men what they must do to gain peace in this life and eternal salvation in the world to come. What could be more Christian than seeking to take His name upon ourselves and follow His counsel to become like Him?

Another restored truth of the gospel I became acquainted with was the restoration of priesthood authority, or the power to act in God’s name.  Prophets and apostles, such as Elijah, Moses, John the Baptist, Peter, James, and John, [were sent back to earth in modern times] by God and Christ in order to restore the holy priesthood of God.  [Modern-day apostles] now possess the keys to establish the Church so that we can come unto Christ and partake of His eternal ordinances of salvation.

 

Learn about other Mormon people, their beliefs, and their conversion experiences – and even ask some of them questions – at the Mormon.org website.